Whole30 Reflections

Heh… so in the end my Whole30 kind of took a nose dive. Well at least after the grain reintroduction. After that fail I went to my parents’ house for almost a week and definitely just let it go.  I think I followed one of the most healthy months of my life with a day of some of the poorest choices of the year. Although gluten-free, I did have one night where I just generally ate too much, had a mixture of non-gluten grains and legumes, AND about 3 glasses of wine, AND to top it off, I smoked some sheesh. Lol I’m not a smoker, but dang did I enjoy that sheesha. Quite frankly the evening was well worth it – although I paid a price the next day.

But to be honest, I didn’t actually do so bad at my parents’ house (I think I ate fish and buttery veggies 3/5 days actually!). For the most part I actually didn’t really deviate too much, I only didn’t complete a few more reintroductions in a controlled manner. On the bright side, the reintroduction I was most curious about was dairy and that went relatively well. I did however want to do a more specific black tea reintroduction, and a more controlled gluten-free grains reintroduction.

It may not work as well, but I figure after I finish off the rest of the dairy in my house (bit of sour cream and mozzarella cheese) – I’ll go back to a mostly to a Whole30 approach for a week or two, clean the slate, and then do a few more reintroductions. By mostly I mean I might eat a bit of parmigiana, and eat non-clarified butter (that shit is too much work, and I miss the creaminess!).

I primarily want to figure out black tea, green tea, and then combinations of tea and cream, tea and honey and tea with honey and cream.  I’m not so concerned about legumes and gluten-free grains. Legumes I just don’t care about- generally they are just the “magical fruit”. Stuff like rice I really don’t think bothers me, but does seem to increase my hunger levels.

Overall, I have to say that I did achieve the main goals that I wanted to with the Whole30 though.

  1. Gave up caffeine and did a coffee introduction.
  2. Can now enjoy herbal teas without sweetener.
  3. Tested out how I feel on dairy vs no dairy.
  4. Figured out the effects of not eating/eating rice.

Things I learned:

  • I ate way more hidden sugars than I thought. These fed a minor addiction I did not realize I had.
  • Although I thought some rice was harmless (and probably is for me if it’s 1-2 times a week), if it’s there on a regular basis, even in small amounts (i.e., like at my parents’ house) it makes me insanely hungry in the evenings. No rice/starches means I can eat the same amounts and not be hungry, lol more like not be hangry.
  • Life is not worth living without dairy. Or at least just sour cream.
  • Dairy may contribute to higher levels of phlegm for me (although taking it out decreased the issue, I did not see a large enough difference to take dairy out.)
  • Tea is drinkable without sweetner.
  • Life sucks without at LEAST some dessert smoothies here and there.

So there we have it. Anywho, this post has been brought to you by “Lazy Cabbage Rolls” pictured below.

 

 

It’s like cabbage rolls but in… stew form? Or is it stir fry form. I dunno but it was easy and delicious!

Lazy Cabbage Rolls

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • lots of shredded cabbage
  • an onion
  • few cloves of garlic
  • some sort of fat (I used bacon fat and butter, lots of it)
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • chicken stock
  • 1 tomato (or however much you got laying around)
  • Some coconut milk or heavy cream to make it… well, creamy
  • salt and pepper and parsley to season

1. I suck at writing recipes so figure it out yourself. Basically brown meat and onion in a pan. Meanwhile, in a large pot melt some butter, add cabbage and chicken stock (about enought to steam the cabbage, but not so much that it’s like soup… unless, you want cabbage roll soup. In that case, go right ahead. Seriously, it’s your dinner, be a rebel, do what you want!). Add browned meat to pot of cabbage, then add all the other ingredients, let it cook for a while so flavours meld.

2. Enjoy. Would probably go well with a side of cauliflower rice. Makes 3-5 servings.

