Day 29 of Whole30 – Ribs Redeemed!

 

Ribs take two was a success! I used almost 3 Tbsps of grease, and this time I had the rib experience I’ve been dreaming of! Sooo freaking good! Although, perhaps I was also craving BBQ ribs, cuz this just hit the spot today!

I made a pretty awesome BBQ sauce, it was so nice and sweet, but had no added sweetener what so ever… unless you count caramelized onions, ha! The sauce was loosely based off of this recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple. But the base was finely chopped onions caramelized in butter, bacon grease, and lard (about a heaping tsp of each). Then I added the left over juices from the ribs from yesterday… basically like a half cup of broth (although this was better cuz it had built up gelatin from the rib bones). And then I added about 3 Tbsp of tomato concentrate, 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar, a bit of paprika, TINY bit of chili powder (I wanted a more sweet flavour than smoky), tsp garlic powder, a pinch of allspice. And I think that was it. Probably the rib drippings made it spectacular though.

I stuffed my face. I couldn’t even finish it all. Okay, I finished all the RIBS, but not my veggies lol. I think I’ve had my grease fill-up for the month. So. Flipping. Satisfying.

Look at all the GREASE!!! Yes. This the way pork ribs were meant to be. Although just in case you think that greasy meat is all I eat, here is the kick ass breakfast salad I had today:

Strawberry Bacon Avocado Breakfast Salad

  • 5 or so strawberries, diced
  • 1/2 avocado, diced
  • 1/2 carrot julienned or grated
  • 1 stem of green onion, chopped
  • 1-2 cups of choice of lettuce/salad
  • 3 pieces of bacon, fried and coarsely chopped
  • 1-2 eggs to top
  • Juice from half a lime
  • 1-2 Tbsps of balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsps of olive oil
  1. You don’t need instructions. Just throw it all together!
