Day 18 of Whole30 – Fish and “Chips”

Woah. My taste buds are like having a rebirth. Everything. Tastes. Sooo. Good.

I also got the Whole30 book, It Starts With Food, the other day. What an awesome book! I never thought I could be won over to full on paleo… but it might be happening. This book helped me understand how my body actually works, and it seems like putting dairy and sugar back into my life might not be worth it. Not on any regular basis anyways.  I also love the food map at the end. I think I’ve been making eating too complicated. Well, on purpose; I do love cooking and trying new recipes, but maybe I should chill out and not plan so much. Just buy meat, veggies, stock up on fats better and f*ck it. Hmm, yes maybe I will stop planning as much. Maybe.

Made some more “sidekicks” today. Wholly cow. My life is seriously now complete again. Carrots. Who knew? This time I made them the “Tomato Alfredo” flavour of Sidekicks. Heaven!

Then I made Cajun Coconut Fish Sticks and Butternut Squash “Chips”. Pretty awesome. I dipped the fries in my home-made ketchup I made the other day. I will never buy ketchup again. Home-made tastes SO good, and it’s so easy! Anyways, I don’t really feel like posting recipes today, so here’s a summary. I’ll post the full recipes some other time.

Tomato Alfredo “Sidekicks”

Basically make it like Chicken “Sidekicks” from the other day, but add more garlic powder, some coconut milk, a splash of lemon juice, tomato paste and a bit of basil. Done. Figure out the proportions yourself, lol.

Cajun Coconut Fish Sticks

Dip your fillets in a beaten egg mixture and then “bread” them in a mixture of coconut flour, coconut flakes and cajun seasoning (I made my own, it’s basically garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, chipotle chili pepper, pepper, salt, basil, oregano, parsley. Go heavy on the garlic powder and oregano, the rest you can add in about equal amounts). Then fry the fillets on medium heat with some coconut oil until each side is golden, about 3-5 mins on each side.

Yeah, I’ll write up these recipes some day. Especially the cajun seasoning. It’s awesome on fried chicken skins!

