Day 11-14 of Whole30 – I survived!!!

WOOHOO!!! I survived 4 whole days away from home AND stuck 100% to the whole30! I even survived a potluck! I cannot believe that I can actually control what goes into my pie-hole. It’s a miracle. I watched people eat sooo many good things these last few days, and while I won’t say I didn’t want any, I didn’t feel heart-broken about it like I would have a year ago.  A year ago, I would have said, “Screw it, I’m starting the whole30 next week.”

Here is the food I packed myself for the weekend.

Pate for breakfast (to go with eggs). Thai coconut chicken soup. Left over curried pork and cauliflower rice. Chicken ragout and cauliflower rice. And left over coconut ginger pork with cauliflower rice.

I was PREPARED. Funny thing is I didn’t even eat all my packed food. You can actually find a lot of whole30 food just laying around. And I was lucky enough to be staying with people who made a few accommodations for me. Like cooking a plain steak for me 🙂 I did take a bit of a risk the one night though. I had 2 london broils. No idea what was in them. But they were wrapped in paper and came from a butcher shop, so yeah, I trust paper wrapped meat more than prepackaged grocery store burgers. But maybe they weren’t 100% – I’ll let that one go though.

I managed to sit through people eating pie and fudge, and I am proud! I even didn’t eat meat that was seasoned with unapproved whole30 spices. I am a champion.

Here’s the breakfast I had on Friday at home before I left for my big challenge.

This was thrown together from a bunch of left-overs but here is a general recipe/guideline.

Sweet Potato Beef Hash

  • 1 sweet potato
  • butter (clarified for whole30)
  • 1/4 lb ground beef (or however much you have/want)
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Seasonings (I used sage and cumin, s+p)

1. Clean sweet potato. Peel ugly parts. Stab all over with knife/fork.  Heat in microwave for 2-4 minutes (depending on your microwaves strength). Basically keep adding a minute until it’s soft enough to pierce with a fork (but don’t over cook). Then wrap in tin foil and let it steam to completion. (I did this the night before and then put it in the fridge to have ready for the morning).

2. Slice sweet potato into small pieces. Fry in butter until crispy.

3. My meat was left over from making stuffed butternut squash  the other day. So I just threw it into the pan with the sweet potatoes to heat up. If using raw meat you may want to remove the sweet potatoes and then fry the meat with garlic and other seasonings.

3. Top with caramelized onions. I also made these ahead the other day. If you don’t have any to start, just caramelize onions in another pan with butter as your first step, and do everything else afterwards. By the time you’re done with the sweet potatoes and meat, the caramelized onions should be ready to go over top.

Other things I ate this weekend:

  • Lots of local in-season peaches
  • Cantaloup
  • Herbal teas: camomile tea, rosehip tea and cranberry tea
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Fried eggs (fried in olive oil)
  • I made home-made salsa for everyone with tomatoes from their garden
  • Guacamole and veggies to dip (took this to potluck- lol and put guacamole on everything)
  • Sweet potato beef patties (made this for potluck also)
  • Summer salad at potluck (with guacamole and olive oil as dressing)
  • London broils
  • Garden tomatoes with onions and olive oil
  • Salad with left over salsa and olive oil as dressing
  • Steak! With salt and pepper only.
