Salmon a la Ratatooey?

Salmon a la Ratatooey

Okay, I actually CAN spell ratatouille. It’s Canada, we speak French here. Kinda. Not really. I had to google how to spell it…

Either way this isn’t exactly ratatouille anyways. That’s just what came to mind when I butchered this recipe for Salmon Provencal. I used the recipe as inspiration, but it wasn’t even close. So if you wanna make THAT recipe it’s gonna be totally different. The tomatoes aren’t even heated up in that recipe and I didn’t really realize that until half way into making the recipe, and by that point I wanted the recipe I had imagined in my head.

I’m a student and I don’t like to waste anything (that trait might also come from my Polish background, but that’s another post). So usually when I cook I look up recipes for inspiration and then just use whatever I have on hand and make up a new version. That’s pretty much how all my recipes are born. Frugality and lack of car (I have to bus for like 40 mins or walk – I’m not doing that for ONE thing to make a recipe).

Luckily, this usually works out well for me. This was freaking delicious! And I don’t know what was better the salmon or the side dish!! That baby deserves a post of its own. Probably tomorrow since I’m having left overs and I’ll probably make the rest of the acorn squash tomorrow to go with the salmon. Here’s the recipe for the salmon ratatouille. It’s not exact cuz I just throw stuff in without measuring, but it should be close. Feel free to butcher it and use whatever veggies you have and change proportions to your liking. (That’s usually what I do when I see an ingredient list this long lol.)

Salmon a la Ratatooey

  • 4 salmon fillets
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 5 mushrooms
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 small zucchini
  • 3 tomatoes
  • Tbsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tspn fennel seeds
  • s+p to taste
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • olive oil for sautéing and baking (eye ball it)

1. Preheat your oven to 400*F. Meanwhile chop all your veggies to pieces of your preferred size. 

2. Heat a bit of olive oil in the frying pan and then add all your veggies except for the tomatoes. I like to add those later so they’re not  as mushy.

3. Let the vegetables cook until soft. Meanwhile prepare your salmon for baking. Drizzle it with some olive oil and s+p and a bit of basil. Put it in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.

4. While the salmon is baking, add the tomatoes to your pan of vegetables. Add the balsamic vinegar, lemon juice and spices. Once it starts to bubble stir in the tomato paste. By the time you do all this salmon should be done. Take it out of the oven and pour your ratatooey over the fish. Done!

I wanted to take one of those cool pics where you’ve just taken a bite out of your food and makes you want to finish the rest. Well… I basically ate this in like two minutes and forgot until the last bite. Opps.

