Day 24 of Whole30 – Almost there…

Long time no post. Not sure why that is. I guess I’ve actually been doing some work for a change lol. That being said, there’s still been plenty of good eats around here. So here’s some notable dishes from the last few days. The rest of the food I ate was pretty much just re-runs of other stuff I’ve posted, or left overs. Or eggs. Lots of eggs. Mmmm soft boiled eggs with butter on top. Damn, I gotta make a post about those. One day.

So… although everything’s been tasting pretty good now that I’m off the sugar, I’m noticing the sugar dragon is rearing its head again. Just when I thought I was doing fine without sugar. I mean, I’m even actually enjoying my tea without sugar. Yes, enjoying it, in italics! A few weeks ago I thought it was disgusting. Now I think I might stick to this whole tea with no sweetener thing. Well, most of the time any ways…

But I do crave at least a nice smoothie with chocolate. And shhh don’t tell anyone, but I had one last week. I didn’t fully realize I was cheating, but I think I was. I mean there was no added sweetener or anything, just banana, coconut milk and cacao powder – so it was technically legit. But it was for a sugar craving so, yeah. But I resisted making one today. To my defence, last week my bf ate a whole chocolate frosty in front of me, and THEN I made the banana chocolate smoothie. I was under the influence so to speak, lol.

Not gonna lie though, I am looking forward to drinking my dessert smoothies with vanilla whey when this is done. I think they’re a pretty healthy way of eating “dessert” – and I don’t even eat them everyday, sometimes not even every week. Oh god and do I ever miss dairy,  I have a feeling that no matter how I feel, dairy is back in. At least sour cream, life sucks without sour cream.

Alrighty, enough of the babble. Here’s some pics. No recipes, but ingredients are listed below. Just throw it together.

Breakfast burrito

Omelet: 2 eggs, s+p, (clarified) butter for frying. Insides: Guacamole (2 avocado, garlic clove, red onion, lime, cilantro),bell peppers, sugar-free salsa, diced tomatoes, ground beef fried with onions, garlic, cumin and chili powder, extra cilantro and green onions for topping.

Shrimp-fried cauliflower rice

Shrimp, butter garlic, coconut oil, lots of garlic, and lots of random veggies (whatever’s on hand, I used: carrots, celery, onion, cabbage, plus cauliflower rice.

Vietnamese Beef Curry with Star Anise

Stewing beef, tumeric, curry powder, fat for sautéing onions, garlic, chili pepper flakes, basil,  beef stock, lemongrass (take out before eating), star anise (take out before eating). Okay I should probably post this recipe at some point, it’s so good, and you probably don’t wanna mess up the odd flavour combo.

Sweet Bacon Chicken Cabbage “Pasta”

Caramelized onions, bacon, chicken, garlic, basil, tomatoes diced, tomato paste, shredded cabbage and carrots for “pasta”. I think cabbage noodles would also work great for pad thai! Soon!